A significant number of Garcinia Cambogia products contain a substance called Gelatin. The big question is “What is this gelatin made from?” and is it really safe for me to take products that feature gelatin on their ingredients list?
What Is Gelatin In Garcinia Cambogia
Capsules Made From?
Gelatin is a popular alternative to veg caps both in the pharmaceutical and herbal supplements markets. The latter is a nice alternative for strict vegetarians.
Gelatin is made from animal jelly after prolonged boiling.
Specifically, a nitrogenous colloid formed after hard boiling of various connective tissues such as ligaments, bones and tendons is what forms gelatin.
Gelatin has unique chemical and biological properties. For instance, it easily dissolves hot water and forms a fine jelly on cooling. It is used in various situations as food although its nutritious qualities are of a low order.
Scientists refer to it as a form of “denatured collagen protein”. The jelly is rich in hydroxyproline and proline amino acids.
Where Is Gelatin Gotten From?
Gelatin is sourced from connective tissues of vertebrate animals and fish like skin, cartilage, tendons, hoofs and ligaments.
The tissue is processed by boiling in steamy water or with some acid. The long process of manufacture involves removal of foreign elements and purification. The end product is tasteless, colorless and brittle. It easily dissolves in hot water and can take up to ten times its weight of cold water.
So in a nutshell, the gelatin used for Garcinia Cambogia capsule is gotten from animal and fish tissues (not from pig) Gelatin has an expansive shelf life in capsules under proper packing.
This therefore ensures longevity for the extract and safety during shipping and storage.
Besides that, as gelatin is highly soluble in water, it easily gets dissolved in stomach. Within a short time after taking the capsule, the extract is freed into stomach for quick absorption to the blood stream.
But why don’t Garcinia manufacturers use gelatin from pig connective tissues?
Well, the answer is relatively straight forward. Gelatin capsules sourced from pigs have 86% bovine which makes them quite hard. Pig gelatin would slow down the process of delivering Garcinia extract to your digestive system for absorption.
So, if your personal or religious beliefs don’t permit you to partake of anything gotten from pig, you can rest cozy when using Garcinia Cambogia because there’s nothing pig in it.
Is This Gelatin Certified?
Yes, all gelcaps used to package Garcinia Cambogia are Kosher Certified. Besides that they are Parve or Pareve. Parve is the official classification under Jewish law meaning that the product is prepared without milk, meat or other derivatives.
Most gelcaps for Garcinia in the market currently are FDA certified meaning that they meet quality standards for retail in the US and the whole world in general.
Better still, if you are concerned about gelatin consumption, you can still receive the benefits of Garcinia Cambogia supplement by opening the capsule and mixing its content into a glass of water before drinking. This will work provided the required Garcinia Cambogia dosage is adhered to.
You can rest assured that the gelatin used in Garcinia Cambogia is safe for you. Moreover, it is made according to relevant standards.